The EET Board Members


Members Directors
Dr Stephen Pierpoint Dr Stephen Pierpoint (Chair)
Chris Sheen Chris Sheen (Vice Chair)
Cheryl Williams Gwyneth Hamand
Jo Tanner Juan Hernandez (CEO)
Dr Andrew Stone Robert Pettigrew
Claudette Thompson


Information Members and Directors

Dr Stephen Pierpoint – Member & Director

School Governor for 30 years at 3 different establishments, Chair at Norlington for 22 years, Local councillor member of Education committee (1986-90). Current Governance responsibilities include the overview of Safeguarding, Child protection and Health and Safety lead.

Tax Manager at Shell International Petroleum and tax accountant 1989-2009, Qualified Tax inspector 1986-1989. Currently completing a PHD at Cambridge University.


Chris Sheen – Member and Director

Currently Vice Chair of Governing body with 4 years of governor experience.

Wide experience of general management and personnel in the construction and education sectors. Initially in the construction Industry which included 5 years as General Manager for a company with responsibility for overseeing over 100 staff including all aspects of human resources, personal development and training. Subsequently a Project Manager working on BSF projects in direct control of primary and secondary school construction and refurbishment projects from the post design to completion stages.

Currently the Owner and Director of a small chain of successful children’s nurseries and oversees all aspects of operations, regulatory compliance and personnel.


Cheryl Williams – Member

Experienced School Governor and active member of the local community working as a Church Elder in the local Seventh Day Adventist Church. Cheryl has relevant education experience through her role as a Teacher at Heron Hall Academy, Cuckoo Hall Academies Trust.


Gwyneth Hammond – Chair of Norlington Local Governing Body– Director

Current Chair of Norlington School Improvement Committee with 4 years of governor experience.

An educational professional with considerable experience as a Teacher, Manager and School Improvement Advisor with experience drawn from  working in schools, colleges, universities and local authority. Strong partnerships and relationship management skills that have been developed through project and programme management in educational social justice, progression to higher education and skilled work. Excellent working knowledge of the UK education system.

 Robert Pettigrew – Director

Social entrepreneur, former local councillor (Portsmouth) & Parliamentary researcher, speech writer and policy advisor currently involved in a variety of projects including developing opportunities for ex-offenders, independent consultant focused on public policy and political communications and policy monitoring for health professionals.


Jo Tanner – Member

Jo has been Chair of governors at Meridian High School (formerly Addington High School) since 2012, having joined the governing body in 2010. Relevant educational experience of overseeing a school moving from special measures to an expected Good judgement at the next inspection and academy conversion process.

Jo is also a Director and vice chair of the governing multi-academy trust. This has included taking responsibility for the rebrand of the trust (from Ravens Wood Learning Trust to Apollo Learning Trust) and the oversight of both schools.

Jo has extensive experience in the Charitable sector as a trustee for two national charities with budgets exceeding £10 million each for over 12 years.

Jo has significant senior and board level experience in communications and advocacy, gained across a number of sectors including health, transport and politics including devising and leading national and regional campaigns, changing legislation, challenging public perceptions and successfully securing legislative changes at Government level.

Claudette Thompson – Director 

Career civil servant working at the heart of government with extensive strategic and policy development experience within the political arena.

She is passionate about education and has well developed leadership and management skills. In addition, she  has a strong record of successful delivery, primarily through negotiation and persuasion across a wide group of senior internal and external stakeholders.

She has a broad understanding of public/private sector policies and practices gained by working in a number of government departments and as a result of consultancy work within the private sector.

A high performer across a diverse range of responsibilities implementing change and delivering results.

Dr Andrew Stone – Member

Current headteacher of Holy Family Catholic School

An experienced headteacher for almost ten years, Dr Stone has worked in both secondary schools and the sixth form college sector.

He is co-chair of the Waltham Forest Secondary Challenge and Chair of the Aquinas Trust Federation of Catholic Schools in Waltham Forest. He is a strong advocate of partnership work in school improvement and is an effective networker across Waltham Forest and beyond.

Dr Stone’s PhD, completed while he was working full time, was a study of the lack of parity of esteem between academic and vocational education in England. He is a passionate believer in lifelong learning and enhancing the life chances of disadvantaged communities.